About the Swiss Chemical Society (SCS)

The Swiss Chemical Society (SCS) represents chemists and scientists from chemistry related fields in national and international organizations. The society supports the exchange of scientific and technical know-how and offers corresponding networking possibilities to the academic and industrial community. It has members in more than 50 countries and represents about 2700 individual and institutional members.

Key activities of the SCS include ...

  • Scientific meetings, congresses and courses to assist, inform and educate the community in all fields of pure and applied chemistry.
  • Awards for outstanding contributions in a wide range of chemical fields.
  • Representation of interests of Swiss scientists in national and international organizations.
  • Publication of the scientific journal CHIMIA and the involvement in associated journals, e.g. HCA, Journal of ABC, PCCP and the journals of Chemistry Europe.

The SCS is a member of the European Chemical Society (EuChemS), the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) and the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences (SATW). It is also connected to the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, IUPAC (with the Platform Chemistry of the SCNAT being the Swiss representative)

All members can access our SCS network platforms on LinkedIn or follow us on Twitter.

Contacts and Board Members

Dr. Alain De Mesmaeker, President (member of the Executive Board)

Dr. Gillian Harvey, Chairman of the Editorial Board of CHIMIA (member of the Executive Board) 

Dr. Hans Peter Lüthi, Treasurer (member of the Executive Board)
ETH Zurich and SCS Foundation

David Spichiger, Executive Director and Head Office (member of the Executive Board)
Swiss Chemical Society

Prof. Christian Bochet, Vice President (member of the Executive Board)
University of Fribourg

Prof. Roger Marti, President of the Division of Industrial & Applied Chemistry (DIAC)
HEIA Fribourg

Prof. Eric Bakker, President of the Division of Analytical Sciences (DAS)
University of Geneva

Prof. Stefan Willitsch, President of the Division of Fundamental Research (DFR)
University of Basel

Prof. Jean-Louis Reymond, President of the Division of Medicinal Chemistry & Chemical Biology (DMCCB)
University of Bern

Prof. Harm-Anton Klok, President of the Division of Polymers, Colloids and Interfaces (DPCI)
EPFL Lausanne

Prof. Jan Cvengros, President of the Division of Chemical Education (DCE)
ETH Zurich

Prof. Christophe Copéret, National and international relations
ETH Zurich

Prof. Sandrine Gerber, member of the board
EPFL Lausanne

Dr. Martin Vollmer, member of the board
Clariant AG

Divisions of the Swiss Chemical Society